EYFS - A Parents Guide

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. All those involved with the care of children from birth to 5 years old must follow this framework.

The EYFS states that:

  • "Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential.
  • Children develop quickly in the early years and a child's experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances.
  • A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right.
  • Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow."

The EYFS describes "Overarching principles" which are expected to form the basis for everyone's approach to their work with children in the Early Years:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special needs and disabilities.

The EYFS identifies seven areas of learning and development that are all important and interconnected.

They are split into 3 Prime areas: Communication and Language, Physical, Personal, Social and Emotional and 4 Specific areas: Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World, Expressive Arts and Design

The three prime areas are "particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive." They are then strengthened and applied through further experience of the 4 specific areas.

Play is at the heart of the all the children’s learning experiences. "Each area of learning and development must be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children's development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play and by taking part in play which is guided by adults."

pdf For a parents' guide to the EYFS curriculum, click here

Early Years Foundation Stage at Croft Playgroup
Playing is our priority